Despite the many odds stacked against professional sports, the Bennetts British Superbike Championship ran six action-filled events in 2020 and, almost incredibly, eight different riders tasted champagne throughout the season.

Hard-charging Australian ace Josh Brookes took a while to get his Ducati race machine up to speed but he was dominant at the series finale at Brands Hatch to take his second ‘BSB’ crown, after last winning in 2015.

With grid positions crucial in a quality-packed entry and shortened season, riders concentrated hard during the intense Datatag Extreme Qualifying Day, with every one of the Superbike and support classes aiming for pole positions in ‘DEQ’.

Yamaha pilot Jason O’Halloran and Kawasaki rider Danny Buchan shared the Datatag Extreme Qualifying pole positions over the season and Jason in particular used this to his advantage to push his fellow Australian Brookes all the way to the final chequered flag, to take the runner up slot.

The series has a very strong field of riders with 27 International riders vying for what is widely seen as the most highly regarded National Motorcycle series in the world.

The series ran without spectators due to COVID restrictions on ‘elite sport’ and the organisers put strict protocols in place to ensure riders and team personnel health. To support the strong fan base of the series TV Broadcast (on Eurosport, ITV4 and QUEST) was ramped up and fans were encouraged to get involved through the popular BSB Radio online and strong social media channels.

See more about the Bennetts British Superbike Championship here

Final Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings:

  • Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) 288
  • Jason O’Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 267
  • Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) 258
  • Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) 226
  • Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 215